Hike The Deam Wilderness Saturday Afternoon

Join our resident amateur archelologist Jacques Andre Bachelier for a hike in the Deam Wilderness leaving from KMart east parking lot at 11 a.m Saturday (yes, that’s  a departure from our normal Sunday hikes) Leaving from the Hickory Ridge Lookout Tower we’ll descend to Axsom Branch where Jacques and I have found numerous Native American artifacts over the years (see below for a story about how we “discovered” this place.)


Bring a lunch or snack and beverage if you like. About a 5 mile hike. Forecast looks good…some sun, high of 35.

Further, we’ll see if Denny Deam, cousin of Puxatawny Phil, the local prognosticating Woodchuck (seen below), has determined if winter is soon to end.

hibernation2

So, when Jacques and I first started hunting artifacts, we went out to the Deam. Looking out to the point at Axsom Branch on the shore of Lake Monroe, I said, “That looks like a good spot.” I added, “If we find something, we’ll have to have a glass of wine.” Within five minutes of searching the shoreline, I found a small arrowhead and decided I would plant it on the shore where Jacques might find it. After a few minutes, I heard him say, “We’re going to have to drink the whole bottle !” I looked over and saw he was holding a beautiful single-edged knife blade of an alabaster color. Wow! And, he’s been going back ever since. (I’ll ask him to bring this along on the hike so you too can see it.)

nutting stone.jpg

“Nutting Stone” found at Axsom Branch used to crack acorns and hickory nuts

deam hiking map.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment